Welcome Interuptions?

1 10 2009

Can there be such a thing as a welcome interruption?DSC00310

I’m fan of permission marketing and pull marketing, but as a consumer, and interested marketer I also often get some interruption (SPAM) marketing. I am not alone I am sure…

I fly often, and often get annoyed that airlines want to constantly make announcements, turn on the lights, pause the video, feed me breakfast at dinner time or do something generally annoying .  I also often fly BA (British Airways), they once helped me out in a difficult spot that allowed me to see my son born (long story for another day), so they made a deposit in my personal trust account.

At the end of a recent BA flight, full of annoying announcements, they asked if anyone would like to donate to a charity call Change for Good, I had heard this before, but all the other interruptions had drowned it. It’s a charity partnership with UNICEF, co-ordinated by the cabin crew who asked passengers if they want to donate their spare change or foreign currency. Nice touch, maybe a welcome interruption?

The interuptions are going to keep coming, we keep hearing how ad spend is down in traditional media, and moving online, I also read recently that the BBC are going to allow product placement, and we have all heard about the Obama ad in a video game.

Everyone uses google, and largely ignores the sponsored links, but we are happy to put up with the interruption/distraction, because we think google search is the best. Most of my favorite sites take advertising, am I willing to accept interuptions because I like the content? Would free music, in a portable form be OK if it was sponsored? Someone is always willing to spend money to interrupt us and get our attention.

Interuption, Sorry, but it’s the start, and the real question is always what you do once you get it. But is there such a thing as welcome interruption?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

