I’ve been diagnosed with SNF

6 09 2010

I have managed to self diagnose my summer health issues as SNF – Social Network Fatigue.

I think Brian Solis invented the term in his book, Engage, but I didn’t know how bad I had it until a two month stint in NY when I came across Leo – I feel for Leo.  But fortunately, I am not as much of a “socal media whore” as he is… plus I have two kids and a wife, who I prefer to spend time with them rather than twitter or my blog.

SNF refers to the phenomenon of user exhaustion, caused by recreating social network profiles in every new, hot, or popular network that appears on the social radar screen. SNF also stems from burnout associated with the emotional, intellectual and time commitments required to stay connected to peers in one or many social networks concurrently.

Social Media has been dominating marketing blogs, trade press and the general media for some time, with a new widget or site announced almost daily – It’s hard to keep up. I have heard of a lot of companies recently hiring a head of social media, I also feel for this person as much as I feel for Leo.

Social Media can’t be left to one person. It’s the whole organisations responsibility, producers, customer service, sales and marketing must all leverage social media. Obviously we can’t (nor should we) ignore this powerful channel, but we also can’t let it distract us from effective marketing. Marketing is about communicating a story, a story that resonates with our audience, regardless of the tools. Effective marketing is about measurement, some of these new tools also have great new metrics but we shouldn’t forget it’s about driving revenue or attendance at our events. Integrated direct marketing is about wrapping it all together, measurement, channel and message. Alignging them is where success lies.

I believe in Porter (link to the best article ever written on internet strategy), Godin, Drucker and others … Social Media or Internet technology will not be the source of long term competitive advantage, it may not even be short term (How quickly did facebook rip off foursquare? I mean I wasn’t even the mayor of my house yet and already I have to do it in two places….).

However, that said, we must be aware of the new social media tools, they can be very powerful in reaching our audience. We must employ them to fish where the fishes are by choosing the tools that are being used by our audience and enaging them in authentic communication. More importantly we must find influencers in the social media space and engage them in our events. It’s not always about the latest or greatest tools, it’s about telling a story (and measuring success).

Cheers,

Jason

P.S. Another desenting view from the FT!

P.S. I got some advice from HBR and I’m now cured…. I have to go as I heard there’s a new version of DIGG out!

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 09 2010
donna4boca

I cant agree with you more. I am feeling exhausted but my excitement and thirst for more has not gone away. I am new to it all and hope to be like a pioneer on a journey toward sacramento…..

6 09 2010
I’ve been diagnosed with SNF (via Nomad Marketer @ IQPC) « Donna4boca's Blog

[…] I have managed to self diagnose my summer health issues as SNF – Social Network Fatigue. I think Brian Solis invented the term in his book, Engage, but I didn't know how bad I had it until a two month stint in NY when I came across Leo – I feel for Leo.  But fortunately, I am not as much of a "socal media whore" as he is… plus I have two kids and a wife, who I prefer to spend time with them rather than twitter or my blog. SNF refers to the phen … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

